USA to get gluten-free Cheerios this summer
It has been announced that in the USA the well known brand of breakfast cereal Cheerio’s will become Gluten Free. This is good news for all Coeliac’s who miss out on many mainstream cereals due to cross contamination. Hopefully once they are launched in the USA they will make their way over the UK too, meaning good news for all of us here in Britain.
While the number one ingredient in Cheerios is whole grain oats, which do not contain gluten, Cheerios are not currently safe for celiacs as small amounts of gluten-containing grains such as wheat, rye and barley can be introduced at farms where oats are grown, or when they are transported, creating a cross contamination risk.
However, in a posting on its Taste of General Mills blog , the company says it has “developed a way – years in the making – to sort out the small amount of wheat, rye and barley in our supply of whole oats that are inadvertently introduced at the farms where the oats were grown, or during transportation of the whole oats to the mill”.